buffalomili.blogg.se

Boondocking in alaska
Boondocking in alaska











boondocking in alaska
  1. #Boondocking in alaska how to
  2. #Boondocking in alaska free

You can camp up to 14 days at a time and it is on a first-come first served basis. There are 72 million acres of BLM land in Alaska! Definitely the cheapest campgrounds that the government operates are located on BLM land. I looked out my tent and instead saw a mama moose with her two calves. It was Heaven! Around 4am I heard what sounded like runners taking off on a marathon. This is where I solo camped for the very first time in Alaska. I noticed there was a flat space right off the road to camp. As I driving out there though I passed this little lake with lily pads and crystal blue water. I wanted to camp near Matanuska Glacier and have a campfire with the glacier in the background.

boondocking in alaska

Some people camp here all summer long, so finding a spot can be a challenge, but totally worth it. There is something so magical about sitting and taking in the glacial blue water running in the valley with Exit Glacier in the background. The best mile-by-mile Alaska guidebook there is! A Couple of My Favorite Places for Independent Camping in Alaska Exit Glacier in SewardĪll along Exit Glacier road in Seward are boondocking campsites along the river. I’ve seen people pull out their grills and camp chairs and call it good just 30 minutes south of Anchorage on the Seward Highway! Most of the major roadways in Alaska have pullouts and it is quite acceptable to pull over and stay for the night. Whether you are driving in off the AlCan and come in through Tok or are driving on the Kenai Peninsula, you will see people camping all over the place. Independent Camping is legal in Alaska and happens all over the state. All three mean that you are camping without running water and with little to no amenities. Boondocking, dry camping, and independent camping all mean the same thing with independent camping being the preferred saying. Boondocking is when you set-up camp off-the-grid like by a river or a lake and not at a campsite that has hookups.

#Boondocking in alaska free

  • Check out the Visitor’s Centers or go to Ībsolutely Free – Boondocking, Dry Camping, or Independent Campingīoondocking is legal in most states and is quite common among those comfortable with camping wherever the wind takes them.
  • A Couple of My Favorite Places for Independent Camping in Alaska.
  • Absolutely Free – Boondocking, Dry Camping, or Independent Camping.
  • #Boondocking in alaska how to

    This guide shows you how to find free or cheap campsites in Alaska or in your state. To each their own… for me right now though… I want to camp in the middle of the wilderness where I can see every star in the sky.

    boondocking in alaska

    Now that my parents are traveling and camping in their camper, they prefer these types of campgrounds as they have real restrooms, showers, all the amenities and most even have clubhouses. When I first started I had sticker shock on how expensive some campgrounds were – it was as much as a hotel and I was providing my own bed! For me, I soon discovered that I was not a fan of private campgrounds as they usually had big RV rigs and there were a lot more slow travelers. For four years I road tripped around the contiguous US and camped in National Parks, National Forests, State Parks, Dispersed land, with the Bureau of Land Management, on people’s properties, and in the middle of absolute nowhere.













    Boondocking in alaska